Blogging

Good day, my faithful blogland constituents.  The purpose of today’s post is to address something that I think has been missing in my life for the recent months.  Blogging was originally a creative vent for me; a place where I could share thoughts, anecdotes, pictures, and experiences with the friends in my life.  Even though I love FB and Twitter as they force you to strip your ideas down to concentrate, I still feel the need to write at long lengths why life is just really tough right now or why eating a good apple can make the whole day better or why a man needs to walk around his house naked or in his underpants from time to time.  You get the point.  So congratulations, confetti, and handshakes all the round as I re-inagurate myself back into the office of ‘Blogger’.  I will make it my duty to provide you with incredibly dry and tasteless humor, let you in through writing to the secret places and thoughts that run through my mind everyday, and generally share with you the not-so-unique observances I make filtered through the oh-so-unique perspective that I hold.  Let’s take blogging back to where it started.  Post from the heart, I say.  Let your first draft be your only draft, unless of course, you’re the Chicago Bears.  That being said, let’s begin.

turke

Today’s topic:  Sandwiches, Burgers, Wraps

I’ve often heard it said that American Food isn’t necessarily ‘American’.  On many counts I would agree.  Being the multicultural schmorgisborg that we are, our specialty is having the best of all worlds.  Italian, Mexican, Korean; I’d be hard pressed to believe you can’t go somewhere in this country and find a pretty good representation of a certain country’s staple cuisine.  So bringing us back to the point, what would you consider America’s Food to be?

A few years ago, I can guarantee you I would’ve have a very tough time answering this question.  Unless you’ve got a specific reason for knowing the answer, you might’ve too.  My 13 months of living in Japan forced me to take a good hard look at some of the best things our country has to offer.  First thing I had to learn to live without: Bread.  Now, if you’re the Wonderbread, no taste, no character type of bread eater, no problem.  But for us sourdough, rye, honey wheat, pumpernickle, crossiant, asiago cheese loving fanatics out there, this is a serious luxury to give up.

Next- Beef/Deli meats. Not the most readily available, or cost friendly, commodity in other places around the globe.  Where else in the world can you order Fajitas that come with enough steak to last you three meals?

And finally-Cheese.  We love cheese here in the states so much that we stopped looking at it as an extra, we started making excuses to make cheese the center of the dish, sometimes the entire meal!  Think about it(and notice the progression); Cheese fries, Grilled Cheese, Macaroni and Cheese, 4 cheese pizza, String cheese, Fried cheese!, cheese fondue, cheese queso, cheesecake…we even put cheese on our cheese!  And before you discount it think back to the last time you sprinkled some parmesan on your pizza.  Perhaps we don’t make cheese as good as the French but call me a Chinese Operaman if we don’t know how to eat it better than them.

Which brings us to the pinnacle of our discovery.  Some historians will tell you it was a Jewish Rabbi in the 1st century that made the first sandwich.  Others say it was a pub owner in London during the 1700’s.  I say ‘bah’ to all that gibbery and say it was probably some guy in the northeast U.S. who realized he had lots of the three best ingredients in the world and thought to himself, “There’s got to be a way to combine these things to further heighten my eating experience.”  And so he did.

But, wherever you believe sandwiches originated from, they are a wonderful picture of what our country should represent; food groups and condiments of all shapes, sizes, colors, and tastes coming together to make something that not one of them could do on their own, uniting for a cause much bigger and far more important than themselves; to feed me.

About willisan

Born the year the Bears won the super bowl for the 1st and last time (as of yet) in Chicago, moved around a bit, lived in Central/Southern/Backwoods Japan for a while, now in Atlanta. My Interests: ・Photography ・Reading ・Sports ・Fitness ・Languages(Japanese) and many, many more!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Blogging

  1. Pingback: Blogging

  2. Fausto says:

    Let me begin by saying that this was a very thought provoking blog. After reading it I realized that Japanese culture revolves around a very simple way of life. In our culture we do a lot of things in excess IE: eating, drinking, playing, etc. Maybe that’s why the US is considered one of the “fattest” nations in the world. The fattest people in Japan do it on purpose to become great sumo wrestlers! We can generalize the idea because it is so apparent in Japanese culture. Sometimes that small meal of sushi is more gratifying than eating that 2 pound burger…

    • willisan says:

      Fausto- Thanks for reading and thanks even more for commenting man! Don’t get me wrong, Japanese cuisine is filled with food that aint the healthiest, but most of the time after you eat a meal, you feel full, but not like you need a pepto bismol. Another big part of the low weight thing is that walking is a much bigger part of life there; and I grew to love it. Even outside the big city, one might walk or ride a bike to the nearest grocery store or restaurant as opposed to driving. Also, it’s illegal to have even a drop of alcohol in your system and get behind the wheel there; more incentive for people to take a cab or walk to their all you can drink bar of choice 😉
      Stay tuned man!

  3. Christopher says:

    I really enjoyed reading this post! Laughed a lot.. it’s very well written indeed.

    • willisan says:

      Christopher- Is Japork your site? favorited it yesterday. Funky and really interesting stuff on there. How did you get interested in Japan?

      Thanks for the comment and keep reading man! I’ll be blogging again soon so..

  4. afrika says:

    You know Kris….this is mighty special. But i agree so i’m not sure what that says about me. If i moved to Japan, I’d for sure lose 10 lbs. I love bread, beef and cheese!

    • willisan says:

      Afrika you COULD lose 10 lbs, but that would be totally up to you lol! I made the age old mistake of eating more because it was more healthy. Once I got the portion thing under control I did lose some poundage though.

  5. Elizabeth says:

    I would like to make a few comments. 1)Eating a good apple really can make the whole day better, and I’m glad someone else understands this. For so long I thought I stood alone on this. People would ask me how I was doing, and I would say “Better, now that I had a really good apple!”. I still get strange looks for saying that. 2) I love incredibly dry and tasteless humor. In fact, it is my favorite type of humor. You are quite skilled in the art, and I would like to offer you my congratulations.”So congratulations, confetti, and handshakes” 🙂 3)Thank you for recognizing us sourdough, rye, honey wheat, pumpernickel, croissant, asiago cheese loving fanatics out there. I’m glad to have found another fanatic.4) I would love to call you a Chinese Operaman, but you are right. We do eat cheese better than the French. And Finally 5) I liked your sandwich referring to different ethnicities in America analogy. I feel more patriotic!

    Sorry this comment was more like a blog post itself, but I just wanted to offer up my kudos to you.

  6. Elizabeth says:

    P.S. I’m eating Zesty Queso and Cheddar Blanco Cheez-it Duoz right now. Just thought I would share my love of cheese.

Leave a Reply

