Everybody freeze!

Tonight, I’m thankful for my body.

Most of our lives, we only realize how precious the gifts we have are when we lose them.  But every now and again, we have the presence of mind to stop, and imagine what things would be like if we no longer had those cherished possessions.

*Every Wednesday I make the soul sacrifice and make the incredibly long and arduous journey to Midtown Atlanta to participate in what we call ‘Session’.  Ok it’s not really that long but after a long day at the yob the couch is looking might comfy.  Session is what you will hear a bboy or a bgirl(more commonly known as breakdancer) refer to quite often.  It involves other dancers, a particular kind of music, and usually some linoleum(used to be cardboard, but hey its 2009 people). It is not practice, it is not rehearsal, it’s Session.

One of the things you will quickly realize upon entering this scene is the physical prowess and stamina that many of these people possess.  People contorting their bodies to get a move right or repeatedly drilling a technique is a common sight to see.  Over time, a dancer’s body and mind start to sync in a fantastic way; a song plays and the body responds, the beat changes and so does the style.  If not for the body, none of this would be possible.

Anyone who knows me knows I warm up slow.  It can take me a while to build up the trust to really show you what type of person I am.  Maybe it’s because I’m a thinker, not a talker.  But that’s for another blog.  😉  With dance, however, all that fades away.  Hear a song, we start to dance a similar style, and there is an instant, wordless connection.

This drive to push our bodies to the artistic and physical limit will even transcend culture.  During a visit to Japan, I was at a school with some friends.  On our way out, I heard a particular song, a song I had only heard in a particular setting, a song I had only heard around breakdancers.  I immediately ran to the source and to my surprise I found some Japanese bboys!  My language skill was fairly low at the time, but it didn’t matter; we both had something else we could connect on.  And to the dismay of my friends we ‘connected’ for the next two hours until they forced me to leave.

I know that when I am injured and I can’t perform at my max, I become miserable.  It’s something we take for granted and often overlook.  I don’t worship it, but I am fascinated by how it moves and reacts and how it was designed.  It’s an amazing gift.

So tonight before you go to bed, or tomorrow when you wake up, take a few moments and give thanks.  Do a stretch, eat an apple, take a few deep breaths; take care of your body.  Cuz you know what, you’ve only got one.

Freeze!

About willisan

Born the year the Bears won the super bowl for the 1st and last time (as of yet) in Chicago, moved around a bit, lived in Central/Southern/Backwoods Japan for a while, now in Atlanta. My Interests: ・Photography ・Reading ・Sports ・Fitness ・Languages(Japanese) and many, many more!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Everybody freeze!

  1. Afrika says:

    This is a good post kris. “Your body is a temple!”

Leave a Reply

