the road not taken…

What do you get in life when you give up something you love?  I mean really give it up?

The thing that really baffles my mind is that this thing that you love so much, that brings you joy, that has almost become a defining factor in you life; I would venture to say that more often than not it is sort’ve a bad thing.  Not like, inherently bad, but bad for you.  Or becoming bad for you.  Do I have these things in my past, in my life today?  Surely.  I might even mention a few.  But that’s not my question right now.  My question is, what do you get in return?

I have always been attracted to people who are passionate about someTHING.  Aren’t you?  Doesn’t really matter what it is, does it?  I mean, I feel like society and life and THEY start slipping something in the proverbial water, even at a young age.  It stinks of conformity, yes, but we cannot totally blame it.  No, there was a time when you shouted for what you beleived in, held your ground like a mule, and with an attitude like Matt Damon’s when Robin Williams asks him why he chose the wrench in Good Will Hunting you said..well I don’t want to ruin the scene for you.

But have we answered our question yet?  Have we even asked why we’re asking it?  Why did I give up certain things, and why did you?  I don’t mean the peer-pressure, football over band, ill-advised decisions.  We’re talking about the ones where in all manner of sobriety you chose whether by words or deed or inaction to put something down.  To move on.  Growing up as it were.

If this seems scatterbrained its because it is.  Welcome to the trap-door filled labyrinth that is my mind.

Hmm.

I suppose that at the core of this game of getting involved and making an exit, is fear.  It may not look like fear, but it is certainly not void of it.  But of what?  Its some horrible abhorrence of getting in too deep and missing out on whats going on.  If I wanted to be cliche I’d insert a parallelism to that movie where phone lines have become the fastest way to travel.  (The Matrix)

Back to the point.  The problem with that fear though is that it paralyzes the victim in the exact place he or she least wants to be.  Thank you Dr. Phil for that brilliant synopsis.  I think a man fears returning to the dock only to see the boat he once knew so well already out to sea.  He is left with 3 choices: Return home, find a different boat, or get to swimming.  Choice #1 – He realizes what awaits him at home is better than the other options, or that he doesn’t want the new/old as much as he though he did.  Choice #2 – He tries different things until he either finds a new passion or burns out.  Choice #3 –  Well, I don’t think we need an example here do we?

So how about you?  Are there any hobbies/passions that you’ve laid down in the past?  What has been the overall result of that decision?

About willisan

Born the year the Bears won the super bowl for the 1st and last time (as of yet) in Chicago, moved around a bit, lived in Central/Southern/Backwoods Japan for a while, now in Atlanta. My Interests: ・Photography ・Reading ・Sports ・Fitness ・Languages(Japanese) and many, many more!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

